The IST is an independent body governed by an Executive Committee, members of which are elected by the Corporate Membership of the Institute. The Executive Committee elects Officers annually and each member serves for a term of three years and has the right to stand for re-election at the end of their term of office. All Institute Officers are honorary.

The IST Executive
President: Dr Helen Sharman CMG OBE FRSC FIScT
CEO/Chair: Terry Croft MBE CSci FIScT
Secretary: Lucy Hudson FIScT
Finance Officer/Deputy Chair: Joan Ward FIScT
Education Officer: Dr Arthur Nicholas FIScT
Marketing & Development Officer: JP Ashton-Kinlin RSci FIScT
Equity & Diversity Officer: Jan Brett CSci FIScT
AI & External Engagement Officer: Dr Marie Oldfield CStat CSci APAI FIScT
Registrar: Dr Michelle Jackson CSci FIScT
Co-opted Members/Invited Guests
Fellowships/Overseas Officer Derek Sayers FIScT
Officer Lee Shunburne CSci FIScT
Assistant Registrar Dr Kranthi Maniam CSci MIScT
Scotland Network Co-ordinator Russell Wilson CSci MIScT
Conference Support John Dwyer FIScT

The Education Board – Chaired by Arthur Nicholas
Melanie Hannah MIScT
Dr Michelle Jackson CSci FIScT
Ian Gray MIScT
Chris Pambou RSci MIScT
Joan Ward FIScT

The Marketing and Editorial Board – Chaired by JP Ashton-Kinlin
Alan Gall FIScT
Stephen Gamble MIScT
James Fox MIScT
Ian Moulson FIScT
Joan Ward FIScT
Nigel Cook MIScT

Vice Presidents
Terry Evans MIScT
Simon Fairnie FIScT
Ian Gray MIScT
Robert Hardwick FIScT
Ian Moulson FIScT
Derek Sayers FIScT