May 27, 2019

Welcome to the IST

The Institute of Science and Technology is the professional body for specialist, technical and managerial staff. Whilst we have been serving our members for over 50 years, our aim is to continually move forward and expand our horizons so that we can best position ourselves to support our members, and the wider technical community, in respect of their needs within the ever-changing and challenging 21st century.

We reach out to provide focused, support to a diverse range of professional technicians, specialists, technical managers working in a broad range of disciplines and environments, such as science, technology, engineering, digital, arts, media, industry, local authorities, schools, FE, HE, research/analytical/health facilities, government departments and many more organisations in the UK and overseas.

Come and join us and help us develop and enhance career opportunities for the technical community. More information can be found in our Membership Section, or just drop us an email to

Professional Registration

technicians montage

Looking to further your career?
Concerned about job security?
Feeling that your contribution and skills are not recognised?

The IST is firmly committed to enhancing professional development and recognition for technical and specialist staff at all levels and aims to help staff achieve these objectives by becoming Science Council Chartered Scientists (CSci) , Registered Scientists (RSci) or Registered Science Technicians (RSciTech), or for those working in a non-science environment Registered Practitioners, FIScT(Reg) or MIScT(Reg)


IST registered practitioner logos

Down’s Syndrome Association/Worfkit – IST’s Charity for 2018/19

The Down’s Syndrome Association is the IST’s designated Charity for 2018/2019. Down’s Syndrome Association (DSA) is the only national charity in UK dealing with all aspects of Down’s syndrome aiming to help people with DS live full and rewarding lives.

The DSA services are accessible to all those with interest in the condition including helpline, training and assessments, resources, sports programme DSActive and successful employment programme – WorkFit.

WorkFit helps people with Down’s syndrome into employment by providing support and training for employers and employees, and the IST is proud to support the DSA and Workfit Inititaive. Please help us support them by making a donation.

Down's Syndrome Association Banner

IST on Twitter

We’re seeing some great progress on this with @TechsCommit here in the UK. Many signatory institutions are putting policies in place to ensure that #technicians are given credit/authorship on publications for their contributions to research – we’re starting to see real change!

Congratulations to the newly-announced Careers Hubs, each linking up to 40 schools and colleges. They will be sharing a further £2.5m investment to improve careers education in line with the Gatsby Benchmarks for young people in their areas:

Don’t forget to get your ticket for this years’ conference in Birmingham! We’ll be just a couple of minutes’ walk from New Street Station with talks on everything from EDI to Photography to Astronaut Training.

Load More…

IST on Facebook

We’re piloting a new, bespoke framework for the professional registration of technicians in the creative industries. Find out how you can get involved here: See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook